Houston Indecent Assault Attorney
Have you been accused of an indecent assault? In 2019 Texas Penal Code Section 22.012 went into effect. This statute makes it a Class A misdemeanor for certain types of sexually assaultive offenses.
A person commits this offense if, without consent and with the intent to arouse or gratify anyone’s sexual desire the person does any one of the following:
1. Touches the anus, breast, or genitals of another;
2. Touches another with the anus, breast, or genitals of any person;
3. Exposes or attempts to expose another person’s genitals, pubic area, anus, buttocks, or female areola; OR
4. Causes another person to contact the blood, seminal fluid, vaginal fluid, saliva, urine, or feces of any person
This statue is intended to make these offenses more serious than they previously were under Texas law. (This used to be a Class C assault) A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
Note: This law is intended to apply to adults. If this offense is against someone under 17 years of age it is the second-degree offense of Indecency with a Child by Contact and includes lifetime sex offender registration.
If you have been accused of an indecent assault, call an experienced Houston Indecent Assault Attorney now at 713-641-5300. Our Houston sex offense attorney and his trained staff are ready to begin defending your case today.